Airman by Eoin Colfer ~Book Review

The more I read Eoin Colfer, the more I fall in love with his books and the more I crave for ‘more’.

After I finished the Artemis Fowl series, I wasn’t sure I would like any other book of his. Airman, bought from Liberty Books at the 9th Karachi International Book Fair (KIBF), stayed in my shelf for a long time before I picked it up a few weeks ago and immediately all my doubts shattered. Eoin Colfer’s other books are just as good, it seems. Because Airman was just too good!

The book is set up in late 1870’s when ‘flying’ has not been accomplished yet. The story starts with narrations regarding Conor Broekhart’s (interesting name, isn’t it?), the protagonist of the story, fascination and inclination towards flying. Anyone who has met him will tell that he is a smart boy, clever for his age. An incident having to do something with fire and saving a life and Conor’s brilliant escape lands him under the guidance of a scientist named Victor Vigny. Victor takes up the tutoring of Conor, and not only teaches him science and the art of fighting, but also involves him in his experiments to fly. Soon enough, Conor begins to contribute in the experiments. But a sudden turn of events lands Conor in jail for the murder of the king. His parents also believe that he is a murderer and all this compels him to escape from prison, not to prove his innocence but to flee away to another country and start a new life. There is just this one problem; the jail’s on an island, in order to escape, one would need to FLY.

Luckily, our hero has a passion for just that.

The story continues with how Conor survives in the jail as Conor Finn and how he longs to fly. But how can that be done from a jail when it wasn’t possible when he was free and under the guidance of his tutor Victor?

You will love this book. It is an interesting page turner which will keep you hooked till the very end. The characters of this book, like the characters in Eoin Colfer’s other books, throw away witty comments which will make you smile, if not laugh. This book too is light with light-hearted fun and no ramblings of the unfair attitude of life. The characters stand up to the challenges and fight the obstacles with wit, cleverness and calmness.

They say these are books for ‘young boys’. I am not a boy and not so young either, but I still love these books. I liked Supernaturalist, I liked Artemis Fowl and I liked Airman. It’s time to try his first adult novel ‘The Plugged’. I have placed an order using Liberty Books Request a Book service. I hope it’s on its way now. Can’t wait to get my hands on it.

If you live in Pakistan, you can order the book from 786cart.com

Favorite lines from the book:

‘What I need you to do is close your eyes and picture the man who sent you here. Use your hatred of him to awaken the killer instinct.’

Conor did not need to concentrate for long. Bonvilain’s face sprang into his mind’s eye, complete with hateful eyes and derisory sneer.

‘And now, Conor, tell me, do you think you can kill?’

Conor considered everything Bonvilain had done to the Broekhart family.

‘Yes,’ he said. ‘I can kill.’

Leave a Reply

